IELTS Requirement for Ireland (2026): Scores for Universities, Courses and the Student Visa
IELTS requirement for Ireland: 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each band at Trinity, UCD, Galway, UL and UCC, 7.0 for the MBA and some courses, visa minimum 5.0.
Get a Ireland ielts requirement action plan before you apply.
Share your phone or email and receive a Ireland ielts requirement shortlist with document risks, budget checks, and counselor follow-up tracked from this SEO page.
Ireland ielts requirement plan
Free checklist for Indian students
The standard IELTS requirement for Irish universities is 6.5 overall with no band below 6.0: that is the published minimum at Trinity College Dublin (Band B), UCD, University of Galway, University of Limerick and University College Cork for most bachelor's and master's programmes. Some courses ask more, such as Trinity's Band C of 7.0 with 6.5 in each band for the MBA, while the Irish study visa itself needs only IELTS Academic 5.0. Use Academic IELTS dated within 2 years of your course start; UCD assesses a single sitting only, while Trinity and UCC accept IELTS One Skill Retake.
What IELTS score is required for Ireland?
Every Irish university publishes its own English-language policy, and they converge on the same number: IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with a minimum of 6.0 in each of listening, reading, writing and speaking. Trinity calls it Band B and says "the majority of undergraduate and postgraduate courses accept Band B"; UCD's Registry sets "an average score of 6.5 over all components and a minimum of 6.0 in each band" for all levels of study; University of Galway says "you need an IELTS score of at least 6.5 overall, with no section below 6.0"; University of Limerick asks for 6.5 with "no less than 6.0 in any component". University College Cork's standard is IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each skill, and a small number of programmes require more.
Above that sit the higher-entry programmes. Trinity's Band C, IELTS 7.0 with 6.5 in each band, applies to its MBA (which lists 7.0 with no band below 6.5 explicitly) and to any other course whose own page asks for it: Trinity's English page says only that the majority of courses accept Band B and points to each course website for exact requirements. Galway flags courses "where the requirement is IELTS 7.0" and raises the equivalents accordingly; its course table shows those at 7.0 overall with no component below 6.5. If a course page does not state a figure, assume 6.5/6.0; if it names a professional body or clinical placement, check for 7.0.
Below both sits the immigration minimum. Immigration Service Delivery requires IELTS Academic 5.0 (or UKVI IELTS 5.0) for a long-stay study visa to a degree course, and 4.0 for foundation or preparatory English courses. The visa figure is irrelevant to admission: no university admits to a degree at 5.0, and the university's evidence automatically satisfies the visa officer.
IELTS requirement by Irish university and course level (2026/27)
| University | Undergraduate standard | Postgraduate standard | Higher-entry courses | Notes from the policy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trinity College Dublin | 6.5 (6.0 each) — Band B | 6.5 (6.0 each) — Band B | 7.0 (6.5 each) — Band C; MBA 7.0 (6.5) | One Skill Retake accepted; MOI exemption possible for postgraduates; CELLT summer pre-sessional from 6.0 (5.5 each); foundation programme from 5.0 |
| University College Dublin | 6.5 (6.0 each) | 6.5 (6.0 each); some courses higher | Set per programme | Single sitting only; retake scores not accepted; IELTS Indicator accepted in 2026 pending review |
| University of Galway | 6.5 (6.0 each) | 6.5 (6.0 each) | 7.0 (6.5 each) for listed courses; 7.5 (7.0 each) for one programme; check the course row | Indian Standard XII English 70% (75% for 7.0 courses) accepted from listed boards, but not for applicants from Chandigarh, Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Odisha, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh or the North East, who must provide another English test; DigiLocker verification required; pre-sessional 70% overall |
| University of Limerick | 6.5 (6.0 each) Academic | 6.5 (6.0 each) Academic | Some programmes higher | General Training IELTS not accepted; degree through English in an English-official country accepted instead |
| University College Cork | 6.5 (6.0 each) | 6.5 (6.0 each) | A small number of programmes higher, e.g. MSc Audiology 7.0 (6.5 each) | Test Centre and Online IELTS accepted; One Skill Retake accepted; 2-year validity |
| Irish study visa (ISD) | 5.0 Academic or UKVI | 5.0 Academic or UKVI | n/a | 4.0 for foundation or preparatory English; certificate within 2 years of course start |
Sources: tcd.ie English language requirements and MBA FAQ; ucd.ie minimum English requirements; universityofgalway.ie entry requirements; ul.ie English language requirements; ucc.ie postgraduate English requirements; irishimmigration.ie study-visa English requirements. All checked 26 Sep 2026. Course pages override university minimums.
IELTS equivalents accepted in Ireland: TOEFL, PTE, Duolingo and Cambridge
If you would rather not sit IELTS, these are the published equivalents at the 6.5 standard and, where a university states them, at the 7.0 level.
| Test | Trinity Band B (≈ 6.5) | Trinity Band C (≈ 7.0) | UCD | Galway (6.5 / 7.0 courses) | UL | Visa minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT (pre-2026 scale) | 90, 21 each section | 100, 23 each | 90 (W21, others 19) | 88 (L18 R18 S21 W22) / 95 | 90 | 61 |
| TOEFL iBT (1–6 scale from Jan 2026) | 4.5, 4.0 each | 5.0, 4.5 each | 4.5, 4.5 each | 4.5 / 5.0 | Not stated | Not stated |
| PTE Academic | 69, 59 each | 75, 69 each | 63, 59 each | 63 (59) / 65 (61) | 61, 59 each | 30 |
| Duolingo English Test | 120 overall | 130, 110 each | 120, 110 each | Not stated | 120, 110 each | 75 |
| Cambridge C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency | 180, none below 170 | 190, none below 180 | 176, none below 169 | Accepted | Grade C | Pass in First (B2) |
| LanguageCert Academic | Not listed | Not listed | 70, 65 each | 70 (65 each) / 75 (70 each) | Not stated | 60 |
Sources as above, checked 26 Sep 2026. Trinity requires Duolingo Integrated Scores shared directly with the university; UCD notes TOEFL Home Edition is accepted in 2026 pending review. Where a cell says "not stated" the university's page did not list that test on 26 Sep 2026.
Rules that trip up Indian applicants
- Academic, not General Training: UL says General IELTS "will not be accepted", and the visa list names IELTS Academic and UKVI IELTS only.
- Validity: Trinity, UCD (normally), Galway, UCC and the visa require results within 2 years of the course start, and UCD spells out that for September 2026 entry the test must date from 1 February 2024 or later; UL's English-language page states no validity period, so confirm with UL.
- Galway and Indian Standard XII: Galway does not accept the Standard XII English route from students in many states, including Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, who must provide an alternative English test; check the full list on Galway's entry-requirements page.
- Single sitting: UCD assesses one sitting only and does not accept retake scores, so the 6.5 overall and the 6.0 minimum in each band must come from the same test day; Trinity and UCC accept IELTS One Skill Retake.
- Band minimums matter more than the overall: a 7.0 overall with a 5.5 in writing fails every Irish university's standard, while 6.5 with four 6.0s passes.
- Online IELTS: UCC and Galway accept IELTS Online; UCD accepts IELTS Indicator in 2026 but warns it may not be recognised afterwards; ISD accepts online results from listed providers.
- Conditional offers: universities issue offers conditional on English, and Trinity considers MOI exemptions only once the application is otherwise complete, so apply first and prove English second.
How to meet the Ireland IELTS requirement on time
Read the course page for the exact band
Note whether it says 6.5/6.0, 7.0/6.5 or refers to a professional body, and whether any component minimum differs. Write down the number rather than relying on the university-wide page.
Book Academic IELTS 3–4 months before the application deadline
That leaves time for one retake within the same admissions cycle. Computer-delivered results arrive within days and paper results within about two weeks; share them with each university through the IELTS results service.
Target 6.5 overall with a 6.5 in writing
Writing is the band Indian candidates most often miss at 6.0. Aiming half a band above the minimum in your weakest skill protects the single-sitting requirement at UCD.
If you land at 5.0–6.0, use a pre-sessional route
Trinity's CELLT summer pre-sessional accepts IELTS 6.0 with 5.5 in each band (the separate Trinity International Foundation Programme takes 5.0 overall with 5.0 in writing); Galway's pre-sessional requires 70% overall to progress; UL and UCD run pathway courses. These carry extra fees: Trinity's 10-week summer programme runs from May to mid-July and costs €3,450, so check each programme's own dates.
Check the visa box last
Any university-accepted certificate at 6.5 exceeds the visa minimum of 5.0. Include the test report form with your visa documents; the certificate must be within 2 years of the course start date.
One test, two thresholds
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum IELTS score for Ireland universities?
IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with no band below 6.0 is the published standard at Trinity College Dublin, UCD, University of Galway and University of Limerick for most undergraduate and postgraduate courses, and UCC's standard is the same (6.5 overall, 6.0 in each skill). Courses such as the Trinity MBA require 7.0 with 6.5 in each band.
What IELTS score is needed for an Ireland student visa?
Immigration Service Delivery requires IELTS Academic (or UKVI IELTS) 5.0 for a long-stay study visa to a degree or other course, and 4.0 for foundation or preparatory English courses. The certificate must be issued within 2 years of your course start. University offers require higher scores, which also satisfy the visa.
Is IELTS 6.0 enough for Ireland?
Rarely for direct entry. Trinity, UCD, Galway, UL and UCC all require 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each band for most courses. A 6.0 does qualify you for pre-sessional English programmes, such as Trinity's CELLT route at 6.0 with 5.5 in each band.
How long is IELTS valid for Ireland?
Two years from the test date to the start of your course, at Trinity, UCD, Galway and UCC and for the study visa; UL's English-language page states no validity period, so confirm with UL. UCD specifies that for September 2026 entry results must have been attained since 1 February 2024, and Trinity states results must be issued within two years prior to the course start.
Do Irish universities accept IELTS One Skill Retake?
Trinity and UCC state that IELTS One Skill Retake is accepted. UCD does not: it assesses a single sitting only and says retake scores are not accepted, so at UCD the overall 6.5 and each 6.0 minimum must come from one test date.
Which IELTS band is most important for Irish universities?
All four count because every Irish university sets a component minimum (6.0 at the 6.5 standard, 6.5 at the 7.0 standard). Writing is where Indian candidates most often fall to 5.5 or 6.0, so aim half a band above the minimum in writing to protect the overall result.
Can I study in Ireland with IELTS 7.0?
Yes. IELTS 7.0 with no band below 6.5 meets Trinity's Band C, which the MBA requires, and exceeds the 6.5 standard at UCD, Galway and UL. It also comfortably clears the visa minimum of 5.0.
Official sources used on this page
- Trinity College Dublin — English language requirements (bands) — Trinity College Dublin · checked 26 September 2026
- Trinity Business School — Full-time MBA application and FAQs (English scores) — Trinity College Dublin · checked 26 September 2026
- UCD Registry — Minimum English language requirements — University College Dublin · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Galway — Entry requirements for international students — University of Galway · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Limerick — English language requirements — University of Limerick · checked 26 September 2026
- University College Cork — Postgraduate English language entry requirements — University College Cork · checked 26 September 2026
- Immigration Service Delivery — English language requirements for study visas — Department of Justice, Ireland · checked 26 September 2026
| University | Min IELTS | Fees label |
|---|
Related NexStudy intents
Ready to study in Ireland?
Get a free profile evaluation, personalized university shortlist, and expert visa guidance from our counselors.